Edward (Ed) D. Halpin

Edward (Ed) D. Halpin

Senior Vice President, Generation and Chief Nuclear Officer | Pacific Gas and Electric Company

Ed D. Halpin is the Senior Vice President, Generation and Chief Nuclear Officer for Pacific Gas and Electric Company. He is responsible for the safe, reliable, and efficient operations of DCPP, the license renewal of our units, the decommissioning of Humboldt Bay Power Plant, and will serve as the lead contact with the Nuclear Regulatory Commission and the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations.

Halpin comes to DCPP from South Texas Project (STP) Nuclear Operating Company where he served as President, Chief Executive Officer, and Chief Nuclear Officer responsible for the overall strategic direction of STP and the operation of the STP's Units 1 & 2. In his more than 24 years with the company, Halpin advanced through positions of increasing responsibility and leadership, including site vice president, vice president of oversight, vice president and assistant to the CEO, plant general manager, operations manager, maintenance manager, systems engineering manager and design manager. He also played a key role in developing and sustaining the company's strong collaborative culture, which was critical to STP's transition to excellence.

Halpin served as an officer in the U.S. Navy's Nuclear Power Submarine Service. He graduated with honors from the U.S. Naval Academy earning a Bachelor of Science in Ocean Engineering and holds a master's degree in Strategic Communication and Leadership from Seton Hall University and another master's degree in Human Development from Fielding Graduate University. Additionally, Halpin has a Senior Reactor Operator Certification and is a graduate of the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations' Senior Nuclear Plant Management course and the Senior Nuclear Executives Seminar.

In June 2011, Halpin was selected as one of 12 industry leaders from across the nation to serve on the Fukushima Steering Committee. The Committee is comprised of industry executives and representatives from the Nuclear Energy Institute; the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations; and the Electric Power Research Institute.